Happy Weekend + Links I Love


rehearse study rehearse

Happy Saturday, everyone! I hope you had a lovely week. Summer is whizzing by, so I’m really trying to soak up what’s left of it.

Yesterday, I spent a significant part of the day at the Canadian National Exhibition with a few good friends. We made our way from one end of the fair grounds to the next. It was nice to just savour it all. We caught The Flying Wallendas’ tightrope act, then did a bit of shopping. I found a sweater for $5! (It’s sweater weather this weekend here in Toronto).

Of course, we indulged in traditional and not-so-traditional fair food – roasted corn, deep fried tater tots with mac and cheese, funnel cakes, crepes, waffle ice cream sandwiches with Nutella and Jalapeno cheddar corn dogs.

Any exciting plans for the weekend? Hope the weather is beautiful in your area.

+ Planning a trip to The Ex in the next few weeks? This handy fair-food flow chart will help you traverse the maze of deep-fried goodness.

+ Loved this short post from Kenzie on her go-to mantras for trying times. When faced with stressful moments, I often repeat: “Let go and let God”. It calms me down without fail.

+ Made me think: Every day a new book is released or a new article is published on how to attain happiness. I really enjoyed reading Cynthia’s thoughts on “How to be happy”.

+ Fox News anchor Shepard Smith has apologized for calling Robin Williams “a coward”. Thoughts?

+ This beautiful post from Garance transported me to Mykonos.

+ Have you checked out Maja’s new series, My Morning? If not, you should do so right this minute. I really enjoyed this interview with Joy Felicity Jane blogger, Tania Gault.

+ I loved reading Leandra’s take on friendship in the fashion industry.

+ Love your shoes and they will love you back. Helena from over at Brooklyn Blonde talks proper shoe care in this informative post.

+ Sweater weather is fast approaching. I’ve got my eye on cozy knits like this one.

+ Health and wellness: Zosia Mamet, who plays Shoshanna on HBO’s Girls, speaks candidly about her eating disorder struggles in the September issue of Glamour.

+ Feed your mind: I picked up Todd Henry’s The Accidental Creative today and I can’t stop reading. Simple, inspiring and practical advice for anyone who feels like they’re stuck in a creative rut. I would highly recommend it.

+ Creative pick-me-up: I also discovered his brilliant podcasts this week. I found this one on stoking and enhancing your curiosity particularly encouraging.

+ The most creative pregnancy announcement ever. Congratulations, Emily!

+ Dance photography: TDFoto’s site redesign has me leaping for joy.

+ Save the date: Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week is coming. Are you ready?! Only 3 weeks left until the Spring/Summer 2015 collections walk the New York runways! Bookmark the full schedule and catch the live stream starting September 4.

(Photo from The National Ballet of Canada’s Official Tumblr)

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Weekend + Links I Love

Leave a Reply

