Summer Reads 2014


I’m currently reading Jason Priestley: a memoir and it’s a real page-turner. I highly recommend it! I’m pretty sure I’ll finish it by next week and I’m already on the lookout for my next read. Whenever summer rolls around, I always have at least 5 books on my reading list. When I’m heading out, I make sure to throw a book in my bag. The subway is so unreliable and I don’t like being stuck with nothing to do.

When I’m having trouble finding my next read, I usually turn to What Should I Read Next? and Goodreads for recommendations. Here’s a list of the books I hope to get lost in this summer.

paris lettersParis Letters by Janice MacLeod

The author Janice MacLeod sums it up perfectly: “After 110 years of writing junk mail in advertising, I devised an exit strategy to finance my own sabbatical. My Shawshank Redemption, if you will. When I met my financial goal, I skipped town and traveled with nothing more than my suitcase and a small set of watercolors. Along the way, I painted letters about my travels and mailed them to friends.”

The Art of FallingThe Art of Falling by Kathryn Craft

Craft’s debut novel is the story of a young woman trying to come to terms with her body and the dance world that has repeatedly rejected her. After suffering a traumatic fall, Penny wakes up and is forced to confront the memories that have always haunted her.

the fault in our stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Named “#1 fiction Book of 2012” by TIME Magazine, The Fault in Our Stars has been on my must-read list for a year now. I guess I’ve been stalling because, as a thyroid cancer survivor, I tend to shy away from reading books about cancer. But I’ve heard nothing but praise so I don’t think I can hold back for much longer.

someday someday

Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

The debut novel from Lauren Graham of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood fame centers around a struggling actress trying to make it in New York City.

delicious

Delicious by Ruth Reichl

Named one of the “18 Books you can’t miss this May” by Oprah.com, Reichl’s new novel is about a young woman who moves from California to New York to take a job at the iconic food magazine, Delicious.

girlboss

#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

Part memoir, part career handbook, #GIRLBOSS tells Amoruso’s extraordinary personal story and offers career advice for young women and insights on entrepreneurship.

what i was doing

What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman

In her debut memoir, TV writer Kristin Newman shares her adventures traveling the world and falling in love with strangers while all her friends at home are getting married and having kids. I finished the first chapter in the bookstore. It’s definitely a fun read.

Have you read any of the books on my list? What’s on your summer reading list?

5 thoughts on “Summer Reads 2014

  1. A Spoonful of Style says:

    Great post. I will put all these on my summer reading list – I usually manage to read four or five books in the holidays (I’m a very fast reader!). I’ve just started reading The Engagements by J Courtney Sullivan – so far so good. X

Leave a Reply

