Happy {Victoria Day} Weekend + Links I Love


vancouver island

Happy Friday, everyone and Happy Victoria Day weekend to all my Canadian readers. Got any exciting plans? I’m hoping and praying for sunny skies for our picnic in the park on Monday.

If you’re staying indoors this weekend, here are a few lovely links to help pass the time.

+ I hope High Park’s cherry blossoms stick around until Monday. The pretty pink blossoms form the perfect backdrop for a summer picnic.

+ May is Skin Cancer Awareness Month. With beach days on the horizon, let Alison’s story be a reminder to practice sun safety. Slap on the sunscreen, wear a big hat and steer clear of tanning beds.

+ Also, The New Rules for Sunscreen and signs and symptoms of melanoma.

+ I’ve never been to Paris but it tops my list of places to visit. Carin’s beautiful Instagram photos make me feel like I’m there.

An oh so lovely post: I went to Paris and Fell In Love…With Myself.

+ In my opinion, Blake Lively deserves the prize for the best dressed at the Cannes opening ceremony. Also thought Zoe Saldana, Nicole Kidman, and Masami Nagasawa looked pretty classy.

+ Must-watch: The letter that survived 9/11 warmed my heart. The infamous letter now calls the 9/11 Memorial Museum (which opened its doors yesterday) home.

+ Favourite Collaboration: Emily Schuman of Cupcakes & Cashmere teams up with Club Monaco.

+ This relationships post on The Everygirl came at the perfect time.

+ Spaghetti Marinara with Poached Eggs sounds perfect for a weekday dinner.

+ Paris Letters just jumped to the top of my summer reading list. The author Janice MacLeod on Paris Letters: “After 110 years of writing junk mail in advertising, I devised an exit strategy to finance my own sabbatical. When I met my financial goal, I skipped town and traveled with nothing more than my suitcase and a small set of watercolors. Along the way, I painted letters about my travels and mailed them to friends.” Sounds like a dream to me!

+ Stock up on summer reads: Don’t miss out on the closing sale at the Chapters John and Richmond location. All books are 50% off until May 31.

Hope your weekend is beautiful!

(Stunning photo of Vancouver Island via Canada Keep Exploring)

Leave a Reply

