For the love of kale


I’ve finally taken the plunge. Yesterday, I walked down the fresh produce aisle and instead of grabbing romaine lettuce, I reached for kale. It’s weird. I have no problem ordering a kale salad or a mushroom and kale pasta dish while I’m out, but I’m afraid to make it at home. I looove experimenting in the kitchen so why do I find this green leafy God-send so intimidating? The textured leaves have got more iron than beef, more calcium than milk, and 10 times more Vitamin C than spinach. It’s good for our eyes and skin, lowers cholesterol, strengthens bones, boosts our immune system, and fights cancer. It’s time to give my health a well-needed boost, so I’ve been scouring the internet for recipes featuring our friend with benefits. Here are 10 of my favourites…

Click on image for source.

farro and kale risotto

Farro and Kale Risotto with Roasted Tomatoes via Foxes Love Lemons

spicy pork soup

Spicy Pork Soup with Kale and Sweet Potato Noodles via Everyday Maven

Cream-of-Leek-and-Kale-Soup-2-en-JK-407Cream of Leek and Kale Soup via Jennifer’s Kitchen
cheesy baked eggs with kale and onion

Cheesy Baked Eggs with Kale and Crispy Onions via Babble

kale salad with citrus

Kale Salad with Citrus, Avocado and Feta via Two Peas and Their Pod

tomato poached eggs with kale

Tomato Poached Eggs with Kale and Wheat Berries via Not Without Salt

kale almond pesto

Gluten-Free Kale Almond Pesto via Elana’s Pantry

Caramelized-Butternut-Crispy-Kale-+-Fontina-Pizza-with-Pomegranate-Salsa-1

Caramelized Butternut, Crispy Kale and Fontina Pizza via Half Baked Harvest

kale pineapple almond smoothie

Kale, Pineapple and Almond Milk Smoothie via Joy The Baker

Yummy, right? Are you going crazy for kale? If so, how do you incorporate this nutritional powerhouse into your diet?

8 thoughts on “For the love of kale

    • donzwebb says:

      You’re not weird, Yael!:) You should definitely give it a try though. I added kale to my smoothies yesterday and today. Kale, a handful of blueberries, a ripe banana, a bit of grated ginger and almond milk….it’s pretty yummy!

Leave a Reply

