Farewell Nelson Mandela


mandela

As I walked out the door toward the gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn’t leave my bitterness and hatred behind, I’d still be in prison. – Nelson Mandela

How many of us would be able to utter these words after spending 27 years behind bars? I know I probably wouldn’t. I doubt that I’d be able to forgive so easily. But he did. For Mandela, no prison walls could stop his light from shining. It’s amazing how one person can have such an immense impact on the lives of so many.

Mandela won over 250 awards in four decades, including the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993. He was the first living person to be made an honorary Canadian citizen. He taught us that nothing is impossible! The world lost a truly incredible human being today. Rest in peace, Mr. Mandela. Your work is done.

9 thoughts on “Farewell Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

