Bucket list update


Happy Wednesday everyone! When I created my bucket list, I thought I’d move through it a lot quicker. But as we all know, life happens. I’m happy to report I’m back on track and have started taking the necessary steps to make some of these dreams a reality.

Become a peer support volunteer with the Canadian Cancer Society

I’d mentioned in my post Lessons in Listening that I was on my way to becoming a peer support volunteer with the Canadian Cancer Society. Well, I did it! I successfully completed my training via a teleconference call last week Monday and just yesterday, I received my follow-up package in the mail! Now, I just need to wait for them to match me up with thyroid cancer patients seeking support. I’m so thankful for this opportunity to use my cancer experience to help others. Time to cross this volunteer goal off the list!

See a ballet

I’ve always wanted to see The Nutcracker but I usually spend my Christmas vacation in Jamaica. This year, I’ll be spending Christmas in Toronto (I’m on the job hunt and didn’t want to make any travel plans). I decided to make the best of it and convinced some friends to get tickets for the National Ballet of Canada’s presentation of my favourite Christmas story.:) As a tiny ballerina, I had the pleasure of dancing the part of the Sugar Plum Fairy and the magical experience has stayed with me to this day. It’ll be my first time attending a ballet by a world-renowned dance company and it’s a dream come true. I’m counting down the days until December 29!

Attend the Winterlude Festival in Ottawa

Winter 2014 marks the 44th season of the festival which runs from January 31 to February 17. A couple of friends and I are planning our trip for the weekend of February 14 (which will be a long weekend here). Train tickets are currently on sale ($38 each way, marked down from $80) so the plan is to take advantage of this amazing deal. We’ll be purchasing our tickets before the week is out.

Quick facts:

  • Winterlude has been celebrated in Ottawa and Gatineau for over three decades.
  • The festival takes place along the World’s largest skating rink, the Rideau Canal Skateway, and sites across the Capital.
  • Fantastic ice carvings by artists from around the world fill Confederation Park in downtown Ottawa.
  • Close to 600,000 people take part in Winterlude activities – most of which are free – each year.

Activities include:

  • Ice-Carving Competition at Crystal Garden – admire masterpieces and witness a fusion of art and ice. At night, special lighting will turn the ice-carving masterpieces into a breathtaking sight.
  • Snowflake Kingdom – the largest snow playground in North America.
  • DJ performances
  • Foodie events

It’ll be my first time visiting Ottawa. Yup, I’ve lived in Ontario for over 10 years and I’ve never experienced our capital city.  So I’m beyond excited to see what the city has to offer! I hear it’s absolutely breathtaking. I found this awesome video of last year’s winter festivities filmed by Steve Savage and it got me even more excited!

11 thoughts on “Bucket list update

  1. laurgardner5 says:

    What an awesome bucket list! I too was a sugar plum fairy back in the day :) I adore going to the ballet. You will love the atmosphere of going to see a ballet from the audience! It’s so fun.

    • donzwebb says:

      I’m really excited! I’ve gone to a couple of musicals before but never the ballet surprisingly. I’ve always wanted to see the Nutcracker and Swan Lake as well.

  2. Feet from Shore says:

    Don’t worry about your bucket list moving slowly. There is always a right time to do things, and knowing how determinant you are I’m sure you’ll cross out every line on your list. I’m so excited for your upcoming trip! Have a lot of fun and embrace every moment of it! Oh, and take a million pictures to share with us, please! :) Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

